FALL 2008 VOL. 9 NO. 2

SMITH BUSINESS:  HOME  Site Index  Previous Issue  Archives  Download PDF

Subscribe to the print version. It's free!

Faculty Awards & Honors

A paper by Sandor Boyson, research professor and co-director of the Supply Chain Management Center, titled “Unified Communications: Leading Advances in Global Decision Making & Economic Development,” was published in the World Economic Forum’s 2008 Global Information Technology report.

Gilad Chen received the 2008 Cummings Scholar Award for early- to mid-career scholarly achievement, given by the Organizational Behavior Division of the Academy of Management.

Hugh Courtney, Professor of the Practice in management and organization, was elected chairman of the board, D&E Communications. Courtney also maintains an active consulting and executive education practice focused on business strategy formulation in highly uncertain and competitive markets. Prior to joining the Smith School in 2002, he was a leader in McKinsey & Company’s Global Strategy practice, where he served clients on six continents on a wide variety of strategy development and implementation issues.

Anil Gupta, Ralph J. Tyser Professor of Strategy and Organization, has been elected to the board of directors of OriGene Technologies, a pioneer in the development of patented processes for the isolation of full-length cDNA and rapid expression profiling techniques.

P.K. Kannan, Harvey Sanders Associate Professor of Marketing, with co-authors Lan Luo and Brian T. Ratchford, received the John D.C. Little Award for best marketing paper in the INFORMS journal Marketing Science in 2007. It is one of the most prestigious awards of its kind.

Dilip Madan, professor of finance, received international recognition for his research by being awarded the Medal of Science from the University of Bologna’s Institute of Advanced Studies.

Roland Rust, David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing and chair of the marketing department, has been named Distinguished University Professor. It is the highest honor presented by the university; only 50 have been awarded since the award’s inception 28 years ago. The title of Distinguished University Professor recognizes the influence of Rust’s body of research and the impact he has made on the field of marketing, particularly in the area of service.

Debra Shapiro, Clarice Smith Professor of Management and Organization, has had two papers accepted for presentation at the Academy of Management meeting in August and has been invited to serve as a faculty-representative on the Junior Faculty Consortium for the Academy of Management’s Organizational Behavior Division.

Ken Smith, Dean’s Chaired Professor of Business Strategy, is current past president of the Academy of Management and a member of the editorial board of Strategic Management Journal and Academy of Management Journal.

Gilvan Souza, associate professor of operations management, co-authored a paper titled “Multi-Period Remanufacturing Planning with Uncertain Quality of Inputs,” which won the Wickham Skinner Best Unpublished Paper Award from the Production and Operations Management Society (POMS).


Copyright 2008 Robert H. Smith School of Business